Skip to content
October 5, 2011 / HL

DIY | How to Make Your Own Extender Slip

One of my all time favorite tv series is Little House on the Prairie. I would also like to say that I used to read the entire Laura Ingalls Wilder series all the way through once a year through my upper elementary and middle school years. Anywho, one of the fun things about the show was their dresses with their petticoats peaking for the bottom.

Extender slips have come back onto the scene as a way to add a vintage-feminine style. I’ve seen some on blogs and sold in etsy shops, so I decided that I would make one myself. It’s a fairly easy project – if you know how to sew a straight line, you can definitely do this!

Materials:

I picked this trim because I liked the eyelets on the edge. You should look for trim that has a nice scallop or detail that will show through. Also, I recommend picking cotton trim versus silk. Otherwise, it’ll look like your unmentionables are showing. The cotton trim makes it look more intentional.

If the slip has slits on the side, sew them up first!

Step 1: Determine the desired length. I tried the slip on with a variety of skirts/dresses to see how long it needed to be. I found that the original length, 22″, was perfect.

Step 2: Pin the trim onto the slip. Since I wanted to keep the original length of the slip, I lined the edge of the trim to the edge of the skirt.

Step 4: Sew! Where you start the needle, make sure to leave a few inches hanging (see Step 5). Another tip – the slip material will stretch a bit as it is sewed to the trim. Just be aware that you will likely need 1-2′ more of trim to¬†accommodate¬†that so don’t cut the trim yet.

Step 5: Finish the ends. This is the trickiest part. Since you are sewing on a linear object to a circle, you need to somehow make the linear object (the trim) into a circle. At the ends, you will sew the ends of the trim together before going back and sew that last part to the slip.

Step 6: Cut the excess lining after you check the length. I tried it on with a dress and it perfect. If it wasn’t right (the length was too long or short), this would be the time to make adjustments . Ta-da!

As you can see, it’s a really easy project. I think I spent more time at the fabric store picking out the trim then it took to actually make this. Enjoy!


With Anthropologie Verdant Slip Dress

DIY | Everybody, Everywear

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Genny / Oct 11 2011 11:08 am

    That’s pretty fabulous. There are so many dresses (especially from ModCloth) that I love but could never wear b/c they are too short! This MAY solve the problem! Thanks!!

  2. aprilgia / Oct 11 2011 1:58 pm

    Pretty creative, lady! And it gives a nice touch to the dress you’re wearing!

  3. Megan Mae / Oct 11 2011 2:45 pm

    As someone who hates finding too-short cute dresses, this is a great idea for DIY. I already use one of my skirts to extend dresses, but this would be a simple project for adding variety.

  4. jeanofalltrades / Oct 11 2011 3:33 pm

    What a great idea! I’ll try this. I loved Little House on the Prairie too and read all the books.

    Nice to see another Seattle blogger in the EBEW challenge!

  5. Anne / Oct 11 2011 5:58 pm

    So cute! What a great idea to add a little variety to your existing dresses and skirts.

  6. Cara / Oct 11 2011 7:03 pm

    I love this idea! I hate wearing slips, but making them fun with trim will hopefully make me not hate them when I need them to keep from tight+skirt cling!

  7. Cassi / Oct 11 2011 8:13 pm

    I was JUST looking at those on etsy and thinking I needed one in white. If it’s that easy, maybe I’ll tackle it myself! I’m glad you used a slip from Target and mentioned to sew it up. That makes it much easier!

  8. kelleyjohnson07 / Oct 12 2011 10:13 am

    And now I want to do this. MAN I need a sewing machine! Great work :)

  9. Berni and Pauli / Oct 12 2011 3:47 pm

    We loved Little House on the Prairie too! That is a great tutorial you have there. And the dress is lovely too, by the by.

  10. Kimbercrafts / Oct 13 2011 4:35 pm

    I love this idea – it would be a great alternative option for my “too short” dresses. Most of the time I just wear them with leggings, but it gets old. I am also smitten with your Anthro dress – such a pretty print!

  11. meagan / Oct 15 2011 7:37 pm

    I love this! I am always spending forever pinning my slips to my dresses so that they show but don’t fall down.
    -Meagan
    http://www.spunkychateau.com

  12. Tiffany Johnson / Oct 5 2012 10:20 am

    VERY nice! I love it and will now go and make me one! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • HL / Oct 5 2012 11:33 am

      Thanks Tiffany! You’ll have to let me know how it turns out!

      Good luck! ~HL

  13. Kim / Jan 21 2014 10:55 pm

    Can I ask where you found your eyelet trim?

    • HL / Jan 22 2014 7:52 am

      Hi Kim! I got the trim at a fabric store (Joann’s). It’s in the ribbon aisle! Good luck on the project!

Trackbacks

  1. Mix and Matching «
  2. Bubble Skirt & Extender Slip | Stubbornly Crafty

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

