Skip to content
February 12, 2012 / HL

For the Home | Photo Gallery

Since Hubs and I moved into our place over a year and a half ago, we basically merged our individual one-bedroom apartments into our shared space. Since then, we’ve obviously made many adventures, like getting married, traveling the world and making joint memories; however, our space has stayed the same.

When I came across this image on Pinterest, I knew that it would be a great inspiration to showcase some of our adventures together. This photo gallery utilizes mix-matched frames to create a cluster of frames.

Source: The Handmade Home

First, we went to a frame store and picked a variety of black frames in different sizes and styles. Secondly, we ordered our favorite photos from our wedding and travels to match the frame sizes we bought.

After some brainstorming, we decided that the following would be the easiest way to figure out the configuration. We used some butcher paper and traced around each of the frames. I drew an arrow to show the orientation of the picture and labeled it (based on the picture it contained). The biggest challenge was making it look like organized chaos. I would work on a few of the “frames” and then realized that I was lining them up, so I would start all over again. The strategy that finally helped us create this look was building a staircase of photos diagonally down and up and then filling around it with the rest of the frames. If you look carefully below, you can see a set of 5 frames that create a “V” space.

Once we got it to the desired placement, we mounted them. We used Command Picture Hanging Strips – they made sure that we could put the photo exactly where we wanted them. I highly recommend these for all of your photo hanging needs. They were really easy to use and quite sturdy. We used a level to make sure the photo was straight.

And here’s the finished product!

I also finally finished the new set of pillow cases that I began a while back (see tutorial here). I found some great fabrics on Fabric.com since I was having trouble finding ones I liked at my local fabric store. I’m quite proud of our rejuvenated living room. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

