Skip to content
April 25, 2012 / HL

DIY | Sew a Bra Strap Holder Into Your Top

Don’t you hate it when your bra strap shows? Some tops may be more likely to expose your unmentionables, but you can fix that. Higher-end places like J.crew and Banana Republic have these strap holders sewn into the shoulders of their tops. This tutorial will teach you how to do this to your own strapless tops and dresses! I must give credit to my mother who taught me how to sew these to avoid any potential wardrobe malfunction.

I must warn you, this tutorial requires some basic sewing AND crochet skills. It’s definitely easy once you get the hang of it and I encourage you to try it out!

Materials: Sew-on snaps, thread, sewing needle and crochet needle. The thread should be doubled-up and knotted.

Step 1: Sew one part of the snap to the inside of your top. I usually sew the bigger half of the snap first. You can determine the location, which can be in the center of the strap or towards the neck. In addition, you want to sew it on an area of the seam or the interfacing so no thread is exposed on the surface of the fabric.

Step 2: Make a slip knot as close to the sewn snap as possible. Crochet a short segment (1-2 inches) of a chain stitch. Finish off the chain stitch by pulling the sewing needle and remainder of the thread through the last loop.

Step 3: Now sew on the other half of the snap. Start by threading through one of the holes of the snap and insert the needle between the two sides of the thread. This will keep the snap secure at the end of the chain stitch. Do a few more loops until it feels secure. That’s it!

To use, snap it around your bra strap and it will stay secure all day long. It’s like a seat belt, but for your bra strap. It’s a fairly quick fix and is pretty inexpensive. I vamped up my Draped Snail Top from Anthro, which you can see in yesterday’s outfit. I hope you enjoy and let me know how it goes!

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sandhya / Apr 30 2012 6:57 pm

    all of my indian blouses (for saris) have these built in and it’s genius. way to go on being able to diy!

    • HL / Apr 30 2012 7:03 pm

      More tops should come with these already built it, for sure! But there’s always DIY :)

  2. judy / Jun 6 2012 3:21 pm

    some of my blouses/dresses have these & until today I had no clue what they were LOL!!!

    • HL / Jun 6 2012 3:36 pm

      That’s too funny, Judy! Now you know and you can enjoy! They are very handy :)

      HL

  3. Paula Hillard / Jun 11 2012 8:23 pm

    thank you—i’d been looking for SOMETHING to do this–ribbon with a snap, or something else, and even found some plastic clips–and bought them online. They were WAY too bulky and “pokey” and this is absolutely perfect. Just what I need. THANKS>

    • HL / Jun 11 2012 8:50 pm

      Thanks Paula! I hope these work out for you!

      HL

  4. mahalatorino / Jun 16 2012 6:26 pm

    Another thank you from me HL.

    I purchased a vintage dress quite a while ago with strap holders just like those. I don’t get the chance to wear it everyday but, when i do, i totally appreciate the perfect way they hold my business together.

    Thanks for the clear advice (with illustations, to boot! yay!) on how to make em for a few other pieces of clothing.

    -DhZ

    • HL / Jun 17 2012 7:00 pm

      I’m happy it was helpful! You’ll have to revisit and let me know how it all turned out :)

      • mahalatorino / Jun 18 2012 7:39 am

        Inserted a couple into a top the night i wrote to you the note and wore it the next day. Lovely not have to constantly feel those straps edging on down my arms every few minutes. I was a free woman! lol.

        You’re right. Once I got in the groove it was pretty simple. I bet the next ones will be even quicker.

        I decided to fold my flimsy sewing string over a few times (6 to be exact) to thicken the chain link section. Ended up nice. A bit more sturdy looking (and easier to crochet with my size 9 hook!), yet still dainty and unnoticeable under the thin cotton material of the shirt.

        Thank for all your help!

        -DhZ

      • HL / Jun 18 2012 10:08 am

        Super excited to hear this! Thanks so much for letting me know how it turned out – I hope others will be encouraged by your success and try this out too :)

        HL

  5. virtualperfection / Sep 29 2012 8:43 am

    I remember I used to have these- you could buy them at a store. They were simply rectangular pieces of cloth with a snap; I sewed them into my top and snapped the snap around my bra. Has anyone seen where you can buy them?

    • HL / Sep 29 2012 8:57 am

      I haven’t seen this product, but that sounds awesome!

  6. virtualperfection / Sep 29 2012 8:44 am

    Also, my problem is sort of the opposite; the shoulders of some of my tops come down a bit and reveal my bra strap.

    • HL / Sep 29 2012 8:59 am

      Bra straps are so tricky! In some cases, I opt for a strapless bra even if my dress/top has straps because of this too!

Trackbacks

  1. Nitty Gritty Dress Details - C Sews

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

