Skip to content
June 21, 2012 / HL

DIY | Embellished Beaded Wedding Dress Sash

In just a few months, my best friend is getting married. I’m excited to be her maid of honor/wedding planner/friend to gush over details with/and now also accessories designer.

She really wanted a gorgeous sash for her wedding dress just like many of the other soon-to-be-married ladies out there. When we started to look at beaded sashes in bridal boutiques or online, we had sticker shock. They were starting at around $300 and up. I get it. It’s a delicate piece of silk and numerous beads. Someone has hand-stitched each one into place. It’s definitely a work of art.

But come on. Paying that much for a belt isn’t worth it.  So, being the DIY gal I am, I offered my services to help make her one. It’s surprisingly easy to make and will give you the desired effect for your wedding look without spending the big bucks. Hope you enjoy this short and easy tutorial to make your own embellished beaded wedding sash!

Step 1: Buy the materials. You will need to buy:

You can also check your local specialty fabric store (not Joann’s) as they may also carry appliques. Make sure the sash is wider then the width of the applique.

Step 2: Sew! I would have photos, but it’s fairly simple. Center the applique onto the sash, use pins to secure it in place and sew around the edges. The beads and rhinestones are attached to a piece of fabric so you basically just sew the fabric onto the sash. Since the thread is clear, it disappears within all the bling-bling-ness of the applique. I secured the corners especially well since that may be the most prone to snagging. This sash is double-layered, so I took the time to sew it only to the top layer to prevent puckering which can be caused by sewing through both layers.

That’s it! It was so easy, it’s almost cheating. All together, the price of this sash was $45 with a little bit of labor. Remember to pack the clear thread into your emergency day-of kit in case you need to make any repairs.

What do you think? Please let me know if you found this tutorial useful and were able to make your own sash. Happy wedding!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stephanie / Jun 21 2012 9:27 pm

    It’s beautiful! And so much more special since it was made by a friend. :)

    • HL / Jun 22 2012 6:33 am

      I agree! That’s a lot of trust she put in me, so I was so happy that she loves it!

  2. Jessica / Sep 22 2012 4:31 pm

    Thank you! Have you seen the Sashes/belts that are fully beaded all the way around? Can you do that? I’d like to make one for my dress. Please post if you have a tutorial fog that! Thanks again!!

    • HL / Sep 22 2012 4:34 pm

      Thanks Jessica! I actually attempted to make an entirely rhinestone front sash before settling on this. However, the biggest challenge was finding high-quality enough rhinestone! If you can find those, I would recommend craft glue to attach them to the sash :)

      Enjoy!
      HL

  3. alahna / May 22 2013 4:55 pm

    the appliques that are a yard long are gorgeous and would do the trick in covering the belt all the way around im making one for a friend and I think I may go that route

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

